Birthday Haiku

Today a dear cousin texted me to remember my father on his birthday. I confess I had forgot to mark it. But it got me thinking of how much my father loved to celebrate us on each of our birthdays, of how much he loved to be celebrated and remembered on his own birthday, too. So, here, for his birthday, some haiku.
_______________

this day, 89
you would have been; this year a
sabbath cycle sets

one spring break we drove
home three hours, just to see your
happy, birthday smile

your happy, birthday
smiles beamed across the table
Bob Evans breakfasts

you always wrote a
note in cards; just so, i know
the gift of kind words

this day, 89
you would have been; this year a
sabbath cycle sets

_______________

Leave a Reply

